New Module: FvwmRingMenu - An Eyecandy Iconic Popup Menu

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

New Module: FvwmRingMenu - An Eyecandy Iconic Popup Menu

Postby Nick Fortune » Fri May 27, 2005 3:54 am

Hi All,

I'd like to present my latest module: FvwmRingMenu. If you've been reading the modules-from-scratch, you'll know all about this. If not, you don't need to know how to write it in order to use. What it does is allow you to create menus that look like this:

Image

Most of those menus are launchers, some of them start sub menus:

Image

Here's my SSH menu

Image

So I name my machines after horror films. What of it? :P

The module is in this tarball. There's a readme file to describe installation, and a man page in HTML format.

I'll post some more ideas of how this thing can be used later in the week

[edit] typo
Last edited by Nick Fortune on Fri May 27, 2005 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Fri May 27, 2005 4:57 pm

Last night ran late, and I ended up leaving out a few screenshots. To start
off, I'd hate for anyone to think that this only worked on dark brooding
config like those I seem to prefer.

For that matter, I'd hate you think they needed round icons:

Image

That's two minutes work to draw the star using inkscape - and most of that was spent trying to remember where they hid the stoke and fill dialogue. The icons 48x48-kde2, courtesy of the Window Manager Icon Project.

If you can cope with small icons, you can get a tight circle around the pointer

Image

Icons from the same source, the 22x22-aqua set .

If you don't have a huge number of apps, you can flatten out your menu entirely:

Image

I quite like that. I think I'll have to add an option to have icons auto-raise on mouseover events. It'd be nice to define a mouseover icon as well, maybe a clicked one too.

Of course, you can get carried away trying to fit everything in. The Harley Quinn wallpaper is by Doc_Jones of deviantart.

Image

So, anyone want to help me test this sucker? It's still very alpha, but it works on my machine. I'd appreciate any feedback.

[edit] typo
Last edited by Nick Fortune on Fri May 27, 2005 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
theBlackDragon
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Zingem, Belgium
Contact:

Postby theBlackDragon » Fri May 27, 2005 5:45 pm

euhm, Nick, your manpage gives me a 404...

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Fri May 27, 2005 5:53 pm

D'oh! Uploaded to one server and linked to another...

It should work now

User avatar
morbusg
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:56 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Postby morbusg » Fri May 27, 2005 6:43 pm

:shock:

I've got to stop drooling on my keyboard, otherwise it'll short-circuit...

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Sat May 28, 2005 12:46 am

First bug found: didn't work without a setting image. Now fixed.

props to mirko_3 on the gentoo forum for the report.

new tarball here

mascanho
Cat in the hat
Cat in the hat
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:38 pm
Contact:

Postby mascanho » Sat May 28, 2005 2:13 am

I would like to know what are the advantages and also a full screenshot of it in action !
Flatland life is a Choice ...

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Sat May 28, 2005 2:39 am

You click on a button and an application starts. Just like normal list menus, except these are prettier.

Some people also reckon it's a more efficient way to select an option, and that the mouse doesn't have so far to travel. I think that part of it is largely a matter of taste.

I'm planning on adding some bells and whistles in due course. Up until then, these are as "in action" as it gets.

[edit]
"click on a button and an application starts". Not "icon". :roll:

VoiDeR
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:16 am

Postby VoiDeR » Sun May 29, 2005 5:02 pm

Im haveing a problem. Everything works great execpt it will only show one icon. I dont get any errors about being about to find them. For every button it only shows my menu_setting.png and thats in the same directory as the others. Other than that it works great. Im able to access all sub menus and it launches apps just fine. Heres my config

Code: Select all

        DestroyModuleConfig FvwmRingMenu: *
        KillModule FvwmRingMenu
        KillModule FvwmButtons FvwmRingMenu-FvwmButtons-*

        *FvwmRingMenu:  Debug           0
        *FvwmRingMenu:  IconSize        50
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Offset          -22,-22
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Radius          60
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Setting RingMenu/menu_setting.png Geometry +0-2
        *FvwmRingMenu:  OriginPolicy            Pointer

        #
        # top level menu
        #
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Menu TopLevel, Icon $[fvwm_icons]RingMenu/l33t_TER_term.png,          \
                        Mouse1 "FvwmEterm"                            \
                        Mouse3 "Module FvwmConsole"
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Menu TopLevel,                                  \
                        Icon $[fvwm_icons]RingMenu/l33t_GAM_frozen-bubble.png,\
                        Mouse1 "*SubMenu Gaming"

        #
        # Games
        #
        *FvwmRingMenu:  Menu Gaming,                                    \
                Center  $[fvwm_icons]RingMenu/l33t_GAM_frozen-bubble.png, \
                        Mouse0 "*SubMenu TopLevel"


This is just my "test" config while I mess around with it.

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Sun May 29, 2005 5:48 pm

One thing it might be is if the setting icon is smaller than one of the icons.

If that happens, the composition doesn't happen, and the icon displayed is just the background icon.

I need to put a message in about that...

VoiDeR
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:16 am

Postby VoiDeR » Sun May 29, 2005 6:43 pm

That was the problem. Is there anyway to close it other than pushing an icon?

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Sun May 29, 2005 10:41 pm

It doesn't catch any keystrokes, so escape doesn;t work... You could bind SentToModule command to a keystroke and send *Withdraw which ought to work

VoiDeR
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:16 am

Postby VoiDeR » Mon May 30, 2005 5:28 pm

Hmmm that doesnt seem to work. Heres what i have

Code: Select all

Key F3 A M SentToModule FvwmRingMenu *Withdraw

And it tells me theres no such cammand as SentToModule. Then i tried SendToModule and i get

Code: Select all

Unhandled Message Recieved *Withdraw

Any Ideas?

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Postby Nick Fortune » Mon May 30, 2005 6:23 pm

my mistake, twice over. SendToModule is correct, and you can't get to the star commands like that.

It's an easy enough fix. I'll sort it out this evening.

mirko_3
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:31 pm

Postby mirko_3 » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:25 pm

Hey nick, have you dropped this project?

thomasadam
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3043
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:12 am
Location: England
Contact:

Postby thomasadam » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:27 pm

mirko_3 wrote:Hey nick, have you dropped this project?


He's most likely busy with real-life. It happens. But then, as they say, patience is a virtue....

-- Thomas Adam

mirko_3
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:31 pm

Postby mirko_3 » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:31 pm

Real life? Ahhh, not that again... :P

User avatar
Nick Fortune
CatCoder
CatCoder
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Stockton, England

Alas...

Postby Nick Fortune » Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:01 pm

mirko_3 wrote:Real life? Ahhh, not that again... :P

Alas, it happens :)

Seriously, since I last posted anything of substance I've managed to start a new job and a degree course, break my right wrist, and I'm just climbing down from the mad rush to catch up the time I lost through injury.

Typical really; nothing for ages, then everything happens at once.

I'll see if I can't get some work in on this over the weekend. It's way past time I did some maintenance work

munkitkat
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:19 am

Re: New Module: FvwmRingMenu - An Eyecandy Iconic Popup Menu

Postby munkitkat » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:26 pm

I've got to stop drooling on my keyboard, otherwise it'll short-circuit :)


Return to “Other languages”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest