Dual Displays

Talk about anything related to FVWM, but don't ask support questions here!
jbi130
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 9:07 pm

Dual Displays

Postby jbi130 » Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:04 pm

I hope this is not too off-topic..

I'm just curious how people organize their dual display setups? ie) Email/IRC on one, code/work on the other? Xinerama or not? What works for you?

Thanks

User avatar
theBlackDragon
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Zingem, Belgium
Contact:

Postby theBlackDragon » Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:57 pm

Well, I use Xinerame (NVidia TwinView actually) and on one of my desks I have IRSSI on the left screen and a bunch of terminals on the right, on other desks it varies but mostly boils down to terminals on my left (and smaller screen) and some form of editor/ide on the right one.

skenderbeg
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby skenderbeg » Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:01 pm

Is it possible to tell FVWM which monitor you want the application to start up on, if you ahve two monitors? Some kind of style or something?

msantinho
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Lisbon (Portugal)

Postby msantinho » Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:24 pm

Is it possible to tell FVWM which monitor you want the application to start up on, if you ahve two monitors? Some kind of style or something?

I use geometry to position (some) applications in one or another screen. I have two 19'' monitors which makes a screen with 2560x1024. Most of the time, (I am a web programmer) I have a console (mrxvt) on the left screen (with multiple tabs: vim, ncftp, mutt, mc, moc, ssh, etc) and a browser (firefox) on the right.

Warning: working with 2 monitors is addictive :-) I almost can't even think when I have to work on a 'one-monitor-only' computer.

skenderbeg
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby skenderbeg » Thu Jul 27, 2006 9:51 pm

So, with your setup, can you switch desktops on one monitor, and leave the other monitor on the same desktop? Is that possible with your setup? Or, if you switch desktops, it switches both of your monitors?

msantinho
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:37 pm
Location: Lisbon (Portugal)

Postby msantinho » Thu Jul 27, 2006 10:22 pm

Or, if you switch desktops, it switches both of your monitors?

Yes, and that is what I want it to do.

I don't know how to setup two different desktops, each one on a monitor with _one_ instance of Fvwm running and only _one_ connection to the X server. It might be possible but I don't know how to do that. By the way, what would be the advantajes of such model?

skenderbeg
Pussycat
Pussycat
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 8:25 pm

Postby skenderbeg » Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:59 pm

what would be the advantajes of such model?


I am in a unique environment where I need two independent stacks (WindowLists) where the two monitors are not dependent on each other. I did find a way to do this, in fact. All that is required is the normal xorg.conf editing to allow for two monitors (dual head) out of a single video card (nvidia is what I am using) and then when you run your "exec fvwm2" command, you can specify the display as follows:

Code: Select all

exec fvwm2 --display :0.0
exec fvwm2 --display :0.1


True, I need this for a unique environment, but I am glad that it is possible.

SpineShank
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:09 am
Contact:

Postby SpineShank » Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:56 pm

im also trying to figure out how to get windows to open up on a specified monitor, i got twinview with nvidia and when i drag an app over to the second monitor it starts its geometry from 0x0 again, cant seem to find a workaround, any info welcome

Code: Select all

x11-wm/fvwm-2.5.18-r1  USE="bidi gtk imlib nls perl png readline rplay stroke tk truetype xinerama -debug"


Code: Select all

fvwm 2.5.18 compiled on Nov 16 2006 at 09:49:52
with support for: ReadLine, RPlay, Stroke, XPM, PNG, Shape, XShm, SM, Bidi text, Xinerama, XRender, XFT, NLS

User avatar
theBlackDragon
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Zingem, Belgium
Contact:

Postby theBlackDragon » Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:44 pm

SpineShank wrote:im also trying to figure out how to get windows to open up on a specified monitor, i got twinview with nvidia and when i drag an app over to the second monitor it starts its geometry from 0x0 again, cant seem to find a workaround, any info welcome

Code: Select all

x11-wm/fvwm-2.5.18-r1  USE="bidi gtk imlib nls perl png readline rplay stroke tk truetype xinerama -debug"


Code: Select all

fvwm 2.5.18 compiled on Nov 16 2006 at 09:49:52
with support for: ReadLine, RPlay, Stroke, XPM, PNG, Shape, XShm, SM, Bidi text, Xinerama, XRender, XFT, NLS


The StartsOnScreen style doesn't work?

GriffithS
Kitten
Kitten
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:27 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Contact:

Re: Dual Displays

Postby GriffithS » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:34 am

Lately i have been using a macbook pro 15" with a 22" display on the left. They are even on the bottom for a text editor.
Griffith Simister orthodontist las vegas nv


Return to “General FVWM discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest