Copied over ~/.fvwm* to desktop, got right menus and stuff..

But I still have the default window borders. The differences between these 2 machines is that one is running Gentoo and the other Fedora Core 6, I am rather new to Fedora so I have no clue what’s different and why my config won’t work, maybe different versions? Any ideas? I can post my ~/.fvwm2rc’s if needed.

You get default window borders, because that’s what’s specified in $(fvwm-config -d)/ConfigFvwmDefaults. FVWM reads this file before it does any other file, which is why one typically overrides such style settings in their ~/.fvwm2rc file.

I suspect what’s happening is that your FC machine is running FVWM 2.4.X which might explain a lot. Of course, without more pertinent details from you as to what is actually wrong, I can’t be anymore specific than that. Although you should read the following:

fvwmwiki.bu-web.de/GeneralConfigGuideLines

– Thomas Adam

grr more woes as I try to update fvwm, I need libxft.so.1 but I have libxft.so.2 :S

That’s just a symlink issue. Symlink libxft.so.1 to libxft.so.1 and run:

ldconfig -X

as root.

– Thomas Adam

That’s what my friend suggested, minus the ldconfig -X part, figured that might help, still no go after symlinking libpng.so.3 to libpng.so.2 and libXft.so.2 to libXft.so.1 I still get failed deps on libpng and libxft. hrm, can’t seem to find out how to get them besides updating xorg, might give that a shot soon

Depends whether they’re in /usr/local/lib and if that directory exists in /etc/ld.so.conf before running the ldconfig command.

Either way, it’s not the best approach, and you should really look at the output of:

ldd $(which fvwm)

To see what else is amiss. This seems like typical Fedora to me.

– Thomas Adam