Custom config hints before starting configuring....

Hello everyone. I am a FVWM noob, and I’ve already started customizing my desktop. But before I do anything serious, I could use some help from a veteran, because, frankly, FVMW’s options are bewildering… even overwhelming.

What do I intend to do? Do a sort of Xfce + Openbox mix, but even lighter and faster. The bling could come later (maybe).
So my plans are:

• vector image border - I heard this is possible, will have to read more about it
  • as few or no icons at all - can I have launchers with text on them?
  • get rid of all FVWM gray “visuals” - resize frame (did that), resize dimensions, switch window, …
  • find some sort of tray or use CDE-ish minimized apps
  • thumbnailing or other effects which slow everything down are out

So I want a desktop like this:

I’ll do all the digging required, but a guiding hand would be mighty helpful…

About the icons: yes, you can have only text on launchers. Thats pretty easy to to with FvwmButtons.

About the resize and move geometry, this will take rid of that:

HideGeometryWindow Always

You can use a tray like xystray, trayer, or one of the many other standalone programs that there are out there to do that. Then swallow it into a FvwmButtons. FvwmButtons can be used to make a taskbar, a buttons panels of whatever, and in adition you can swallow some external programs, for example a system try program. So, the icons (or text buttons) the tray, pager, and your taskbar problems can be solved with a single FvwmButtons. For the pager you can use a external program, but I would recommend you to use FvwmPager, that can be also swallowed into FvwmButtons.

For the bar on the bottoms you can use a second FvwmButtons, menus are manageable by fvwm and can be also be displayed when pressing a button in a FvwmButtons.

About the vector image borders. are you talking about window borders? I dont understand so well…

In any case, wellcome.