How to check if Fvwm is running?

Hi,

I have an advanced GUI application which i want to run on Fvwm. I have set the application window property to have the window without any Window title and window frame. When i run my application in GNOME, KDE or MWM, the application is displayed properly without any frame and window frame or resize handles but when i run the same application in Fvwm, the application is displayed with the default Fvwm window title and frame.

Now i think i have to first check in my code that “if Fvwm is running, then set the window decoration hints appropriately”. Now my queries are:

1. How to detect using C Code that Fvwm is running? (In my code, i detect Mwm by checking the “_MOTIF_WM_INFO” property)

2. How to set-up window decoration hints for Fvwm?

I am new to Fvwm, so please help me!!!

Thanks in advance!!!

Regards,
raman

[color=red]Edited by theBlackDragon:
I can barely follow this, guess it doesn’t really belong in basic questinos then :wink:
–> Moved from Basic questions[/color]

Yes, of course. FVWM reparents the window when it is mapped. You have to configure FVWM to ignore that, typically you can just use a style line for that:

Style myApplication !Title, !Borders, HandleWidth 0, BorderWidth 0

[…snip…]

– Thomas Adam

Thanks for a quick reply.
I’ll surely try the mentioned option.

Still, please answer my other queries:

1. How to detect using C Code that Fvwm is running? (In my code, i detect Mwm by checking the “_MOTIF_WM_INFO” property)

2. How to set-up window decoration hints for Fvwm?

Thanks!!!

FVWM doesn’t define (AFAIK) an XAtom to denote itself in that way – this is because applications don’t need to bother detecting it. The only reason MWM does this is for legacy purposes and most likely because its embedded upon its own toolkit.