Multiple X login sessions

I’ve been using fvwm now for about 3 months, and i’m very pleased with the speed and looks of it :wink:

But there is a feature I really need on this shared machine.

:question: How can I enable a command or a script, to start a different X session (ctrl-alt-F…) from fvwm (like in kde)?

Even more difficult to run that command, when the xscreensaver is active, so multiple users can use an X session.

Is there somebody who already accomplished this?

Tia, eol

Hi,

I’m not shure, if I understood you.

If you want to start another Windowmanager on another display, you can use this script:

bilder24.parsimony.net/forum5677 … tuxwin.txt

Save as tuxwin, run with
./tuxwin fvwm
./tuxwin startkde
./tuxwin wmaker

or whatever you need.

You can switch the Desktops with strg-alt-fXXX

If you want to run the second desktop in a window, try this:
bilder24.parsimony.net/forum5677 … uxwin2.txt

usage:
./tuxwin2 startgnome
./tuxwin2 fvwm
./tuxwin2 startxfce4

Greets, Mark

That’s not what he’s after…

Certain display managers (GDM is one instance) have the ability to seemlessly run on more display (:0, :1, :2, etc) allowing many users to login, etc.

What I tend to do, is have three instances of xdm start – on displays 9,10,11 (so that I can map the Fx keys to them) – that way, they can login in that way.

Doing it the way MU suggest above will only allow the user invoking the new xsession to run – using xdm (or some other display manager) allows any user to login.

But look at the other consequences of doing so – there’ll be possibly significant overhead in starting up three instances of graphical logins – not to mention the memory resources that’ll be used for whatever program you might startup…

– Thomas Adam

But how do you start a different session (different user login),
when the xscreensaver is active on the first X session (by another user)