StaysOnTop Toggle, Borderless Maximization, and ReleaseFocus

I’m new to FVWM and have spent the last few days reading the documentation and other peoples’ configs but have had only limited success with my own, even with things that seem pretty simple. Any help with the following problems would be greatly appreciated.

1) A function that to toggle windows between Layer 4 and 6. I thought this would work:

[code] + C ThisWindow(Layer 4) Layer 0 6

• C TestRc Layer 0 4[/code]
    And tried several variations of WindowStyle StaysOnTop but the only thing that had any effect was explicitly telling a window where to go.

2) Stripping borders from maximized windows. I thought I had this figured out too:

[code] + C Maximize

• C ThisWindow(Maximized) WindowStyle !Borders
  • C TestRc WindowStyle Borders[/code]
    But that had no effect on borders. I’m probably using conditionals wrong.

3) Release focus from lowered and iconified windows
I like ClickToFocus and with it it makes sense for windows that are dismissed by iconification or lowering to release their focus like closed windows with FPReleaseFocus. Is there a simple, elegant way to do this? I came up with this:

+ I Prev (CurrentDesk, CurrentPage) Focus

But it seems kludgy and doesn’t always work correctly.

Can you provide the context under which each of those functions are invoked? I noticed you have “+ C” which would indicate when you clicked on the window, but where, how?

What you actually want to do is replace your functions similar to these:

+ I ThisWindow(Layer 4) Layer 0 6
+ I TestRc Layer 0 4

And then define your click instance to call the function that the above defines. You should be using I for Immediately in this context.

As for maximising goes…

+ I Maximize
+ I ThisWindow(Maximized) WindowStyle !Borders
+ I TestRc  WindowStyle Borders

There was also a thread on this earlier on in the forum, which you should dig up…

HTH

– Thomas Adam