3 questions: BusyCursor, startup notification, text wordwrap

Hey all, I’ve been fooling around with fvwm for the last 6 months or so, and I seem to be getting the hang of it, and learning new things everyday. There are three nagging things that I can’t seem to figure out by searching or experementing so I figured I’d set up an account here and get some advice.

1. I’m using Ikaro’s DockLaunch function to launch apps when clicking an icon on a custom FvwmButton. Is it possible to add functionality to either DockLaunch, or elsewhere, to change the cursor to a busy cursor while the program is loading, and then change it back to the pointer when done?

2. Is there some sort of notification that can be checked to see when fvwm finishes starting (ie. loads up fvwm and all init modules like fvwmbuttons). I was hoping to show a splashscreen that would disapear when fvwm finishes starting. I know there is a timer function for fvwmsplash, but this doesn’t make the splash very portable.

3. Is it possible to wordwrap text contained in an FvwmButton? I am using the Title attribute to add some text to part of a button, but it’s very annoying, since word wrap doesn’t work with Title, I need add text line by line and make sure it doesn’t get cut off.

Thanks in advance for your help. This is probably a lot for one post, but I figured it was better to do it all in one then post three seperate questions.

FVWM does this inherently for you:

CursorStyle WAIT <pixmap>

You might also be interested in:

BusyCursorStyle

as well.

Sure, why not add as the very last line in your StartFunction for an action to take place, or end?

It’s a facet of the button width – alas, no.

– Thomas Adam.

Thanks for getting back to me. I tried to implement the two suggestions you made, but I still can’t seem to get either to work.

For my 1st question:

Before I didn’t add a cursor style for WAIT, but I did now. It looks like:

CursorStyle WAIT watch