Delay in moving certain windows

heya gents, ladies

lemmi start by saying i’m new to fvwm. I’m tryin gto setup a config, almost there, just tweaking out config and desktop layout now. Got one question, when i try to move windows like BPM or gkrellm there is a delay before the window actually moves of about 5 seconds, I click move… keep holding the mouse then it kicks in.

Anyone know howto fix this?

Thanks

Have a look at “ClickTime” and lowering its value.

– Thomas Adam

thanks for the reply Tom, didn’t do the trick though however I dont mind at this point. I first thought something was wrong in my config and I’d come across other apps that would behave this way but since i’ve been using fvwm for about a few days it seems to be only gkrellm and bmp/xmms that behaves this way, two apps I dont move much anyway.

thanks

I’m having one of those days. :slight_smile: I didn’t mean ‘clicktime’ at all, what I really meant to say was look at: “MoveThreshold” – that’s the delay that’s used to determine whether a window is being moved or not.

Oh, and I prefer ‘Thomas’, and not ‘Tom’. :slight_smile:

– Thomas Adam

Hey its sunday, i’ll let that one slip :smiley:

I actually tried MoveThreshold before coming here, that also didn’t work. Might be some kinda thing with with fvwm and apps that normally dont want to use WM decoractions.

Thanks again though Thomas :slight_smile:

Indeed, it’s a known xmms bug even though it doesn’t always show up. I for one don’t have trouble with it at the moment, though I did in the past, so it might be related to xmms’ version or such (using 1.2.10 atm, though it might be that gentoo applies certain patches, I’m not sure about that…)

I’m having it with;
xmms 1.2.10 ( beep media player 0.9.7 also)
gkrellm 2.2.7

it’s probably not gentoo related …

i have here a slackware based box, and i have the same prob with gkrellm 2.2.4 - i also had bmp some time ago and there was this move-delay too. but xmms 1.2.10 behaves pretty normal…