Dual Displays

I hope this is not too off-topic…

I’m just curious how people organize their dual display setups? ie) Email/IRC on one, code/work on the other? Xinerama or not? What works for you?

Thanks

Well, I use Xinerame (NVidia TwinView actually) and on one of my desks I have IRSSI on the left screen and a bunch of terminals on the right, on other desks it varies but mostly boils down to terminals on my left (and smaller screen) and some form of editor/ide on the right one.

Is it possible to tell FVWM which monitor you want the application to start up on, if you ahve two monitors? Some kind of style or something?

I use geometry to position (some) applications in one or another screen. I have two 19’’ monitors which makes a screen with 2560x1024. Most of the time, (I am a web programmer) I have a console (mrxvt) on the left screen (with multiple tabs: vim, ncftp, mutt, mc, moc, ssh, etc) and a browser (firefox) on the right.

Warning: working with 2 monitors is addictive :slight_smile: I almost can’t even think when I have to work on a ‘one-monitor-only’ computer.

So, with your setup, can you switch desktops on one monitor, and leave the other monitor on the same desktop? Is that possible with your setup? Or, if you switch desktops, it switches both of your monitors?

Yes, and that is what I want it to do.

I don’t know how to setup two different desktops, each one on a monitor with one instance of Fvwm running and only one connection to the X server. It might be possible but I don’t know how to do that. By the way, what would be the advantajes of such model?