editing the fvwm source

Hi all –

I’m still new to all of this, but I have been able to set up a basic fvwm for myself, but now I want to make some changes to the actual source code (not themes, but the actual fvwm.c, menus.c, etc).

So here’s my question: I’ve downloaded a source .rpm file and then unpackaged in onto my computer. Can I just start messing with the code, then run ‘make’ at the root directory of the source, and then do ‘something’ to get the new code installed?

If anyone has any ideas, I would greatly appreciate any help anyone can give me. I know it’s a stupid question… but it’s for work, and I SUCK at this.

What kind of changes? Can you be more specific?

Forgive me for saying so, but if you have to ask this, I question how you’re going to manage to actually add these “new” features to FVWM. All you do need to do though is:

./configure && make 

Assuming you don’t need any FVWM modules, you can then run the resulting fvwm binary in the $SRC/fvwm directrory, without installing it.

If you tell us what you’re trying to do, I can probably help further. You say it’s for work? I hope work adheres to the GPL. Any changes you make, whether your company will profit from them or not must be made publically available.

Bear in mind also, that if you’re planning changes, it’s best to discuss them on the fvwm-workers mailing-list.

– Thomas Adam

Thomas –

Thanks for the reply. Just so no one thinks I have no idea what I am talking about, I have 4.5 years of Java/J2EE – but all my time was spent working on Microsoft boxes, and then winSCPing the code over to a linux box which was running the WebLogic App Server. All I did was use the HTML gui <-- and that was all the linux experience I had until 3 days ago, so I’ve now spent all of 3 days in Linux. And yes, I suck. So, thanks for the pointers on building the binaries - I appreciate it…