FVWM Tips

I am not too good at these things, so bear with me. I’ve been seeing more and more configs (both in terms of answering questions on these forums, and via IRC, with ad-hoc email, etc.) that seem to be redefining existing functionality for no good reason other than (I assume) ignorance.

So here’s a few things to bear in mind (in no particular order):

1. SetEnv.

Ah yes. SetEnv. I would never had imagined how such an insignificant command would annoy me so much, especially through its apparent mis-use. It seems more and more people are defining things like this:

SetEnv fvwm_home $[HOME]/.fvwm

Which is innocent enough, and indeed works. Except for the fact that it’s completely unnecessary. FVWM defines for you (which you yourself can change) the environment variable FVWM_USERDIR which by default will point to ~/.fvwm – so why in hell people seem to think setting “fvwm_home” is doing themselves any good is beyond me.

Now consider for the moment the implications of doing so. By and large it’s fine, because you presumably wrote the configuration, right? Well, yes, but what happens when you decide to share your all singing all dancing, brand-new complex function you spent the past two days trying to write? What if it contains a reference to “fvwm_home”? The person deciding to try that function is going to come unstuck because he or she may not have “fvwm_home” defined. You should always rely on using “FVWM_USERDIR” where you need to reference a likely and pre-defined location for personal configuration files.

If you’re one of these people whom uses a split configuration file via a series of Read commands, and hence had relied on something like:

Read $[fvwm_home]$[some_other_location]/file1

Read understands (and expands) the variable “$.” relative to a path – so you can use that as well to further increase neutrality.

Not to mention that it leaves endless environment variables defined which might only ever get used once.