Patches - List, discussion, contribution to fvwm

(I’m not good at those things….)

A while ago there’re a discussion on the mailing list about fvwm patches and their contribution to the worker-mailing-list/integration to fvwm.
Maybe it’s somehow good to discuss it also in the forums…There’re floating several patches around in the net…

Especially on the following sites.

http://abdn.ac.uk/~u15dm4/fvwm/ (frogb?)
http://jesgue.homelinux.org/fvwm-files/fvwm.php (Jesús Guerrero)
http://edulinux.homeunix.org/fvwm/patches.html (Thomas Adam)

Don’t know about the gentoo patches…but J. Guerrero does :wink:

I’ start a list:

1.) Conditional: HasTitle, HasBorders
(This patch allows for two new conditionals that’s matched within condition commands: HasTitle checks whether a window has a titlebar or not. hasBorders checks to see if a window has a border.)

2.) WindowStyle: Multicoloured-borders
(This patch allows for the user to define different colorsets for the different areas of the border, including the handles. This works for both the focused and any or all unfocused windows.)

3.) FvwmButtons: Tooltip patch
(This patch (currently a work in progress) allows for the generation of tooltips for buttons.)

4.) FvwmButtons: ActiveAction patch
(This patch allows for actions to happen as soon as the mouse enters into a specific button.)

5.) MenuTranslucency

6.) ResizeOutlineThin
(You can use this change the move/resize box into a single one pixel rectangle. This is closer to how many other WMs look.)

7.) FlatSeparators
(This adds a menustyle called FlatSeparators. It changes the separators so that they are a single pixel thick and colored the same as the text.)

8.) BorderUnderTitle
(With this style, an extra window border is drawn underneath the titlebar using a flat style. It is removed when you shade the window.)

9.) InactiveFont
(You can set the font of the inactive windows. This is useful for removing the shadow on inactive titles.)

10.) FluxboxHandles