SendToModule with FvwmCommand

Quick question, I’m sure I’m just overlooking something:

I have a FvwmScript that has the function named “SingleClic” in it. Everything works fine, and when I click on the button the resulting code is executed.

Here is the related portion of my .fvwm2rc:

*WeatherIcon: (1x1+0+0, Swallow "WeatherImage" "FvwmScript scripts/WeatherImage", ActionOnPress SendToModule WeatherImage SendString SingleClic)

The problem is that if I try to execute SingleClic using FvwmCommand nothing happens.

FvwmCommand "SendToModule WeatherImage SendString SingleClic"

Am I doing something wrong, or does it just not work in this way?

That looks OK. Can you paste your script in full? Do you have ‘CommandS’ started in your StartFunction? Where are you calling FvwmCommand from?

– Thomas Adam

I have CommandS in my .fvwm2rc. I’m running FvwmCommand from aterm, and know FvwmCommand works from there, since I’ve used it for other things.

The script, including the singnal for SingleClic, works great normally, but not using FvwmCommand.

Here is the script:

[code]WindowTitle {WeatherImage}
WindowSize 50 50
Colorset 54

Init
Begin
#change icon
Set $icon = (GetOutput {perl ~/.fvwm/scripts/weather_current.pl icon} 1 -1)
ChangeIcon 1 $icon
End

PeriodicTasks
Begin
If (RemainderOfDiv (GetTime) 1800)==0 Then
Begin

#change icon
            Set $icon = (GetOutput {perl ~/.fvwm/scripts/weather_current.pl icon} 1 -1)
            ChangeIcon 1 $icon
    End

End

Widget 1
Property
Type ItemDraw
#Icon $icon
Size 50 50
Position 0 0
Font “Shadow=0 SE:xft:Comics:size=13”
Flags NoFocus NoReliefString
#Main
#Case message of
#End

Main
Case message of
SingleClic:
Begin
Do {Exec ~/.fvwm/scripts/moveweathermap.sh}
End
End
[/code]

Because you’re probably using FvwmCommand in the wrong way. If you can, enclose whatever evaluation you need to within a PipeRead command and just echo the sendtomodule command inside that.

– Thomas Adam