shadow's config (glass rose)

hi folks,

just finished my first ‘honest’ attempt at configuring f.

Big Screenshot

As you see, I rather like a ‘transparent’ look about my environment and the background image (taken from DeviantArt) nicely complements it, I think.
I am aware that my configuration is far from perfect (because I am new to its style), but I welcome all suggestions of improvement :slight_smile: Please note that I did not include the icons (which are from Gentoo’s Homepage) due to their size. But I included a small sh-script to generate the necessary thumbnails and highlight/shade buttons.
Here’s the config.

Have a nice day,

shadow

Hi
I really like idea of different terminals on bottom, maybe try to implement autohide function on them and set them to sticky so tjhat after keystroke they appear on top of fullscreen aplications (just sugestion). Also (my personal dislike) gnome-terminal uses much resources rxvt or plain xterm will be much niftier.
Cheers
radek

thanks for the suggestions!

i will surely try out other terminals in favour of gnome-t. the auto-hide is a cute idea (i think they already are sticky).

thank you!

i like it!! the terminals on the bottom is a cool idea, maybe i’ll try smth out myself. but as the man said, there are many terminals that will do the trick, and gterminal wouldnt be my first choice either. You could try out aterm or Eterm, which are great terminals and easy to configure (colors, transparency, etc…). Right now io’m using a lil term called mrxvt, which is one of the greatest i’ve tried so far. It has multi-tabbing (not FvwmTabs, its built in on the terminal) and many many different configuration options. And, its light as hell.

Now, on the rest, well, i hate Gentoo Icons, but hei, thats personal :slight_smile: I also dont like gkrell, but thats smth most ppl like, and looks good on your config (maybe you could theme it to match your wallpaper :: just an idea).