Taviso's WindowList function -- FvwmExpose

I found one interesting config by taviso. Cannot get it to work. Any help? On Fvwm Beginners Guide - Advanced Functions scroll down to the end. Here is an example of what that menu will look like.

What isn’t working? You do have both xwd and imagemagick installed?

Looking at the function, I notice it uses a bad environment variable (I was a bit of a noob when I wrote that), and you should use $[FVWM_USERDIR] vs $[fvwm_home]. You also need to make sure you have created the directory $[FVWM_USERDIR]/tmp or adjust that to point to a tmp directory to store the .png files in. If that directory doesn’t exist, the shell script will most likely fail.

xwd and imagemagick work fine. I am using this thumbnail sample in another config. Also did a test if the problem is with Fvwm3 by running 2.6.8. Cannot get the menu to appear (I am using FvwmConsole).

What about my other comments? Did you both update the environment variable (in two locations) and ensure that the tmp directory you are storing the .png files in exists?

Did the correction before you posted. When running the config, no thumbnails appear in /tmp.
I am assuming the problem is WindowID. Not familiar with this command. How to test if it works?

The thumbnails should be in $[FVWM_USERDIR]/tmp not /tmp, if the .png images are not in the desired directory, the issue is the xwd command piped to convert not creating these images, so you may want to manually test that part from a shell.

You can use the man page, though it appears the man page calls it WindowId, though fvwm is not case sensitive, this won’t matter. Here is the output of the man page from 2.6.x – basically it is a conditional that runs an fvwm command on a specific window:

WindowId [id] [(conditions)] | [root [screen]] command
                     The WindowId command looks for a specific window id and runs the specified command