thumbnailing - removal of thumbnails and composite icons

Hello,

I’m a total fvwm newbie. I’ve used fluxbox for ages but yesterday I got hooked on fvwm. I have a couple of questions I hope someone can help me with.

I’ve been fiddling with “Thumbnailing” and my Thumbnail/DeThumbnail functions looks like this:

DestroyFunc Thumbnail
AddToFunc Thumbnail
+ I Raise
+ I SetEnv Icon-$[w.id] $[w.iconfile]
+ I ThisWindow (!Shaded Iconifiable !Iconic) PipeRead \
    "xwd -silent -id $[w.id] | convert -scale $$(($[w.width]/5)) -frame 1x1 \
    -mattecolor black -quality 0 xwd:- png:$[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    && echo Nop"
+ I TestRc (Match) Test (f $[fvwm_icon]/$[w.iconfile], f $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png) \
    PipeRead "composite -geometry +2+4 \
    $[fvwm_icon]/$[w.iconfile] $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png \
    $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png && \
    echo WindowStyle IconOverride, Icon $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png || echo Nop"
+ I TestRc (NoMatch) WindowStyle IconOverride, Icon $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png
+ I Iconify

DestroyFunc DeThumbnail
AddToFunc DeThumbnail
+ I PipeRead "echo WindowStyle Icon \\$\\[Icon-$[w.id]\\]"
+ I UnsetEnv Icon-$[w.id]
+ I Exec rm -f $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png

I also have:

*FvwmEvent: deiconify DeThumbnail

A couple of problems, though.

• I am not sure if the DeThumbnail -function ever runs… Shouldnt it delete the file: $[fvwm_tmp]/icon.tmp.$[w.id].png ?? It doesn’t… I am not sure I understand what $[w.id].png means, but hey…

When I’ve Iconified something I get a file like “icon.tmp.0x20003e.png” in that direcotory, but when I de-iconify it, that file doesnt dissapear… :roll:

— Another thing I cant get to work is the “composite” thing, which seems real cool;

from zensites.net/fvwm/guide/adva … tions.html

…this just doesnt happen for me. I have:

Style "firefox" Icon 48x48/firefox.png

…but I dont get an “icon” with both images “compisited” together. I just get the screenshot…