Wonderful desktop

I “retired” from computing six years ago. Machines collecting dust since then. Been a heavy Linux user since '92 (bootstrap and all that) and later had an IRIX machine as well as OpenSolaris/OpenIndiana near the end.
Being stuck at home due to Covid-19 I decided to upgrade an old laptop (ASUS i5, 1366x768) and put Linux on it. Feel like a total noob being away so long.

After getting Slackware on the machine (my one true distro, LOL) first thing I wanted to do was build CDE as I did before. But I found NsCDE instead. This things is wonderful! The whole look and feel without the headache. Only needed to acquire or build a few requisites but after that it’s all good. Looks nice on the laptop. I believe most things are working well though I have no idea how to use stalonetray. :slight_smile:

Thought it was hilarious/silly/sad that someone on Linux Questions translated NsCDE as NS+CDE (mash up of NeXTStep/OPENSTEP/AfterStep/Windowmaker + CDE). Really? Jeez.

At my job, a drive-in movie theater, our projector servers use Linux with a Motif interface so I’ve never been away from the old school toolkit.

If donations are honored I definitely need to throw something toward the dev. The work is simply amazing IMO.

P.S. Is there a tool for Linux that reduces the size of images similar to Send Reduced on Android?

1 Like

Hi,

I’m glad if you enjoy NsCDE. 1024x768 is the smallest resolution which I had in mind when scalling things for compatibility and usability across devices which may be unknown to me, so 1366x768 should work really ok.

Also, nice to know it doesn’t have problems on Slackware. I didn’t tested on this veteran distribution.

About NS+CDE … yeah I’ve got a link from colleague, but didn’t bothered to login or sign up to answer. I respect NeXTStep, it is nice, but not really my cup of tea. Doesn’t have much in common with CDE or NsCDE of course.